How does tax collection work in South Union Township?

Tax Collection Procedures
The real estate tax collection process of the Township entitles all taxpayers subject to the payment of real estate taxes to a discount of two percent (2%) from the amount thereof within two months after the date of the tax notices. Remittances between two (2) months and four (4) months are paid at face value. Thereafter, the penalty for late payment is 10 percent (10%) of the amount of the tax. Unpaid taxes after one year are turned over to the Fayette County Tax Claim Bureau; a tax sale is conducted on the property if settlement is not made within one additional year.
Taxing Power
The Board of Supervisors establishes by resolution the rate of taxation for each year in accordance with the Second Class Township Code. The municipal real estate tax levy in 2004 for purposes of .6 mills. The township also collects the taxes listed below (shown with the tax rate) under authority of Act 511, PL. 1257 of 1965.
1. Earned Income Tax 0.5%
2. Occupation Privilege Tax $47.00
3. Real Estate Transfer Tax 0.5%
4. Mercantile Tax ½ of 1 mill
South Union Township tax collector, Tom Vernon, office location: 362 S. Mt. Vernon Ave., Uniontown, PA 15401; Phone: 724-438-1352; Office Hours: 9 a.m. to 3 p.m.

When and where can I drop-off my yard waste?

All yard waste is to be disposed of at the Township’s yard waste drop-off station on Township Drive across from the Municipal Office. Use by non-residents, lawn care or landscaping companies is prohibited.
Hours of operation are Monday thru Friday from 7 a.m. to 3:30 p.m., Saturday and Sunday from 9 a.m. to dusk.
Only yard waste is to be disposed – grass, leaves, small shrubs, & small tree limbs.
When disposing of yard waste please drop as far back in the station as possible.
When dumping bags or containers they must be emptied and removed from the premises.
Anyone using the facility must be prepared to show proof of township residency.

Where do I have to go to vote?

South Union Township includes the following three precincts:
South Union Township District No. 1 – Laurel Highlands Middle School
South Union Township District No. 2 – Hatfield Elementary School, Derrick Ave.
South Union Township District No. 3 – Hutchinson Elementary School, Mountain View Rd.
All residents of South Union Township are urged to register and exercise their right to vote. Voter registration forms and change of address forms can be obtained at the South Union Township Municipal Office. Registration must be completed thirty days before Election Day. Absentee ballots may be applied for up to sixty days but no later than one week before Election Day. All absentee ballots must be returned by the Friday before the actual voting day. For more information about absentee ballots or other election questions, call the Fayette County Board of Elections at 724-430-1289.

What are your office hours?

The Board of Supervisors is open Monday thru Friday from 7 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.
The Sewagen Deparment office is open Monday thru Friday from 7:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.

What do I need to know about burning?

Burning is permitted in the Township on Saturdays from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Items prohibited to be burned under township ordinance include non-combustible materials and rubbish, trash, garbage, rubber, or any material that will cause unreasonable smoke or unreasonable odors. Fires should be attended at all times and completely extinguished after burning is completed.

Do I have to recycle?

Residents are mandated under state law to recycle. Items collected include clear and colored glass, aluminum, tin and steel cans, plastic bottles, newspapers, and magazines. The items are picked up curbside once each month by Goodwill Industries. Recycling cans are available at the Township Office. To find out your pick-up day, call the Township Office at 724-438-5480.